Orange County

Regulations for Cannabis Related Commercial Activity

County Description

Orange County is a county in the U.S. state of California. As of the 2010 census, the population was 3,010,232[5] making it the third-most populous county in California, the sixth-most populous in the United States, and more populous than twenty-one U.S. states.[6] Its county seat is Santa Ana.[7] It is the second most densely populated county in the state, second only to San Francisco County.[8] The county’s four largest cities, Anaheim, Santa Ana, Irvine, and Huntington Beach each have populations exceeding 200,000. Several of Orange County’s cities are on the Pacific coast, including Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, and San Clemente.

The county is famous for its tourism as the home of attractions like Disneyland, Knott’s Berry Farm, and several beaches along its more than 40 miles (64 km) of coastline. It is also known for its political conservatism — a 2005 academic study listed three Orange County cities as among America’s 25 most conservative, making it one of two counties in the nation containing more than one such city. (Maricopa County, Arizona also has three cities on the list.[9]) It is part of the Tech Coast.

Political Statistics

County Board of Supervisors

State Senate

CA State Senate

State Assembly

CA State Assembly

US Congress

U.S. Congress – House of Representatives

US Senators

U.S. Senators –State of California
Kamala D. Harris and Diane Feinstein

CULTIVATION

APPROVED

The County of Orange is now accepting applications for Medical Marijuana Identification Cards (MMIC). By action of the Board of Supervisors, a fee of $150 dollars will be charged for cards issued to qualified patients and their caregivers. By state law, the fee for cards issued to qualified Medi-Cal patients and their caregivers will be one-half of the regular fee, or $75.

The California Department of Public Health’s Medical Marijuana Identification Card Program (MMICP) was specifically established to create a State-authorized medical marijuana identification card (MMIC), along with a registry database for verification of qualified patients and their primary caregivers.

Per Health and Safety Code Section 11362.77, a qualified patient or primary caregiver may possess no more than 8 oz. of dried marijuana per qualified patient. In addition, a qualified patient or primary caregiver may also maintain no more than 6 mature or 12 immature marijuana plants.

MANUFACTURING

BANNED

Please contact your local officials and let them know you oppose the MANUFACTURING BAN.

This information will be updated as progress continues.

Please CALL US if you would like further information or updates on pending legislation .

RETAIL

BANNED

Sec. 5-1-31. – Sale or distribution of marijuana or any other controlled substances

  • (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code, no permit, license or other discretionary approval will be issued by the County of Orange, pursuant to any applicable section of the Orange County Codified Ordinances, or otherwise, that would permit the sale or distribution of marijuana or any other controlled substances, as defined herein, under local, state or federal law or which is illegal to sell or distribute under local, state or federal law.

(Ord. No. 10-018, § 1, 12-7-10)

Sec. 5-1-32. – Businesses selling or distributing marijuana or any other controlled substances

  • (a) No person shall operate, maintain, conduct, facilitate, or permit any business, activity, or use involving the sale or distribution of marijuana or any other controlled substances, as defined in Section 5-1-31(c) of this Code, under local, state or federal law or which is illegal to sell or distribute under local, state or federal law.

(Ord. No. 10-018, § 2, 12-7-10)

Sec. 5-1-33. – Civil fine; businesses selling or distributing marijuana or any other controlled substances

  • (a) Notwithstanding any other Code section or resolution on the subject, violation of section 5-1-32 of this Code shall be subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per day that a business, activity, or use operates in violation of section 5-1-32, and may be processed as set forth in section 1-1-40.15 of this Code.

(Ord. No. 10-018, § 3, 12-7-10)

CannaBusiness Law has established prominence as a cutting edge leader and pioneer in providing the highest quality legal expertise in the Cannabis industry.

Contact CannaBusiness Law today to provide expert assistance in compliance With Cannabis Licensing, Permitting and the Application process relating to Commercial Cannabis in California.

COUNTY-SPECIFIC NEWS AND UPDATES